On getting stranded in another city…

11855618_10103798594018963_6855527104985111696_nA few years ago I was living in Los Angeles. I met a guy at a party, let’s say some time around the beginning of December (we’ll call him Dick). Dick and I went on a few dates and everything was going well so, naturally, Dick asked me what my plans were for New Year’s Eve. I didn’t have any, so Dick invited me to go to big warehouse party down in San Diego. It sounded like a blast and I was really excited to go.

New Year’s Eve comes around and the plan was for me to drive to Dick’s house, in Orange County, and then he would drive us from there to San Diego, where we would be crashing at his brother’s apartment. We get to the apartment and then pile into a car with his brother and some friends.

The warehouse party was amazing! There were, maybe, four different stages and a big outdoor space with food carts. We had a great time!

Sometime after midnight, we were dancing, when Dick tells me that he and his friends want to go outside to have a cigarette. Knowing that I don’t smoke, he asks if I’m fine alone and I tell him I am. As I continue to dance I’m approached by a guy (because, duh) who starts to dance with me. Now we’re not talking crazy sexy grinding, this is house music! We’re just dancing, facing each other, having a good time. After maybe twenty minutes goes by I realize I haven’t seen Dick in a while, nor any of his friends. I glance around the dance floor, and again outside, but still don’t see him. I shoot him a casual text, “hey, where are you?” But I’m not too concerned and figure he’ll turn up at some point.

Shortly after that, the party is over and the venue is closing. Since I still don’t see Dick and I decide to stand by the exit so that maybe I’ll see him, or his friends, as they make their way out. I even looked in the direction of where we parked, but the truth is I have no idea what the car we came in looked like. As more and more people pass by me I start to freak out. Where did he go? I continue to text and call, but my texts go unanswered and eventually my calls start going to voicemail. What am I going to do?!?

Then an angel appeared… like not the kind with wings, but the human kind that come out of no where and make things seem okay. He saw me standing alone and asked if I was okay. I told him I didn’t know what happened to my ride and he pointed to a huge shuttle bus waiting in the parking lot. He told me he was with a group of friends and they were staying at a hotel down the road. He told me lots of people would be partying in and around the lobby and that if I wanted to come back with him on the shuttle that he would wait with me in the lobby until I figured out my ride. Seriously, an angel! I went back to the hotel and proceeded to text everyone I knew in the San Diego area. But the truth is, it was New Year’s Eve and late into the evening and no one was responding. My guardian angel assured me there were 10+ people staying in the room, both guys and girls, and that I was welcome to crash there for the night. I will be forever grateful for this angel. I don’t remember his name and didn’t get his number, but looking back I wish there were a way I could thank him.

Dick finally responded sometime the next morning. He asked if I’d gone home with that random guy I’d been dancing with (uhh no!) and told me he’d pick me up at some point. Around 1 pm he finally picked me up and drove me back to my car, the 3 hour car ride was spent in complete silence. I never thought I would need to worry about getting home, but ever since this date I’m hesitant to go with anyone anywhere without knowing I have an escape plan if needed, you’ve been warned!

11873787_10103798594173653_2508018958801552936_n

 

One thought on “On getting stranded in another city…

Leave a comment